Friday Harbor


I was sitting on a boat in the middle of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island the first of July.  Friday Harbor, San Juan IslandThe weather was glorious after a somewhat tenuous start to the summer.  Ferry traffic dodged the pleasure boaters sailing in and out of the harbor though the bay was relatively calm and uncrowded.  I secured the anchor, climbed in the tender, and made my way to shore.

I am a walker. Paseantes (segunda versión) / Walkers (second version)I try to do four to five miles a day.  When I am on the boat during the summer I either go ashore and walk the logging roads (with an eye to black bears), walk the local less trafficked roads of the settled islands, or use my peddle-kayak to simulate a long stroll.

That day, it was San Juan Island. San Juan Island Wildflowers IIIt has beautiful country roads that criss-cross its lazy, low hills.  Field of flowersThat time of year, the road sides were thick with wildflowers: buttercups, daisies, dandelions, poppies, clover and thistles.  The fragrance is a great companion to any walker.  But something was missing.

Over the course of my four day stay in the harbor, I walked over twenty miles on the island and not ONE bee did I see.  king beeThe height of summer bloom and nothing buzzed about.  I passed miles, literally, of blackberry bushes, all heavy in bloom….yet no bees.

Some speculate that multiple causes have hit the bees all at once like a blizzard and they simply can’t cope.  I wonder if it could be similar to the ever increasing stresses of human life: too much information, too fast; too many choices to assimilate and order; information overload.

Could the humble yet vital honey bee be sacrificing itself in order to send a message to mankind?

~ by rfgainey on September 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

The Fine Art of Visiting

Sharing points of view politely, just like Grandma taught me. Now that we're visiting, join in the conversation!

Wordcrafters In Eugene

The Focus is on Fiction: It's All About Craft

A Literary Lion's Tale

Musings from the The Literary Lion, Peter Miller

The View From Here

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs: A writer at the water's edge

Greasergrrl's Surprise Machine

Dogs, music, tech and other random ramblings

