By Any Other Name


My youngest daughter and I took a road trip of sorts a couple of weeks ago.  We flew to Idaho, rented a car, and drove through Yellowstone Park yellowstone 1on our way to a week-long horseback trek into the Wind River mountain range in Wyoming.Wyoming 1

I have two truly remarkable daughters and we have evolved our parent-child relationship into one of admiration and friendship as they have joined me in adulthood.  Yet, there are always reminders that we live in different generations:

We were watching a movie together one night and one of the main characters was walking through the streets of New York listening to I Want to Thank You for Letting me Be Myself on his Ipod through remote earbuds (I WANT those!)  He was surrounded by a multitude of people, ensconced by earphones, oblivious to the natural sounds of the world around them. 

Has the population been reduced to listening to someone else’s soundtrack as they travel through life, I wonder?  There is something fine and heady about absorbing the world around you as it happens, not simply in reflection.  The sound of life and human surroundings IS our soundtrack, I think.  And there is something to be gained from it, if not only in hearing the screech of the bus just before it hits us.

I say: Doesn’t anyone listen to the birds anymore? singing bird

Daughter responds: Mother, I think that’s Sly and The Family Stone he’s listening toSly Stone., not the Byrds.The Byrds

Long pause and we look at each other.

I say:  I meant the BIRDS, my dear (I flap my arms as illustration and grimace)…..

I rest my case.iPod

 

I

~ by rfgainey on September 24, 2008.

3 Responses to “By Any Other Name”

  1. I love, love love this post. So heartfelt and real. Thanks for sharing!

  2. It is a beautiful gift when our children take their places next to us as adults. It is a mesmerizing experience to hear my daughter unknowingly reflect back to me a thought or opinion that I recognize as something I instilled in her at some point along her path. The astonishing part is to hear it reflected through her prism of perception and still recognize its origin.

  3. That story really cracked me up! I have had the dilemma when walking home from work of “to listen to music or not to listen to music.” Sometimes I like to see and hear what is happening around me (most of the time), but at times I want to just lose myself in the music to escape the world around me and (hopefully) put me in a better mood!

    The Windrivers are beautiful! That must have been a great experience!

Leave a Reply

 
Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

The Fine Art of Visiting

Sharing points of view politely, just like Grandma taught me. Now that we're visiting, join in the conversation!

Wordcrafters In Eugene

The Focus is on Fiction: It's All About Craft

A Literary Lion's Tale

Musings from the The Literary Lion, Peter Miller

The View From Here

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs: A writer at the water's edge

Greasergrrl's Surprise Machine

Dogs, music, tech and other random ramblings

