Confidence and Success


I drew a crowd today.

Not by wit or wisdom; neither in distress nor brilliance. Simply because I am a woman…accomplished in something seldom seen in a female: I backed a 53 foot boat into a tight spot and docked her, by myself.

I chuckle every time I display this “courage and aplomb,” as one of the many men watching my maneuvers commented. If I were a man (and, thankfully, I’m not. Four appendages are all I can keep track of…) there’d be no angst or amazement as I rounded the dock in reverse, against the wind and tide. There’d be no applause when I disembarked to tie the stern and bow securely to their cleats.

I could rail against the bewilderment of most men at my solo journeys aboard my vessel every summer. Gloria Steinem certainly would, chalking it up to chauvinism. But Gloria would miss something in her ire that I never have: the pure pleasure of doing it.

I wager that her anger (wasn’t she always angry?) made her miss many things. Anger turns us blind. Too many times we seek the approval of others to validate our accomplishments rather than taking them for the joy that only we can feel at their conclusion.
Doing the best one can do simply for the achievement is not a new idea, but it is often lost against the gauge of other rewards.

The sense of accomplishment doesn’t rest in the acknowledgment of others. It rests on one’s confidence. The notion of success is rooted in confidence. Confidence, after all, is nothing more than faith, whether it’s in oneself or in the Almighty. Either will do.

Either does.

20120809-154905.jpg

~ by rfgainey on August 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “Confidence and Success”

  1. Yeah you! I think that kind of thing happens a lot actually … where what you do or say goes against the gender stereotype, and when you are good at what you do it is seen as something to celebrate when it would not be so had it been done by a man. (Lord, was that a run-on sentence!)

    I’m actually good at math, and at times when I meet someone new and they find this out they are surprised. The old, “girls are not good at math” thing comes into play. But boy do the like that I can figure out the tips at a restaurant! lol

  2. Thought provoking. I tend to undervalue my accomplishments, in modesty and as a motivation to try harder. I need to pause and reflect more often. Celebrate success. Enjoy the achievement for what it is. Thank you, Robin.

Leave a Reply

 
Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

The Fine Art of Visiting

Sharing points of view politely, just like Grandma taught me. Now that we're visiting, join in the conversation!

Wordcrafters In Eugene

The Focus is on Fiction: It's All About Craft

A Literary Lion's Tale

Musings from the The Literary Lion, Peter Miller

The View From Here

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs: A writer at the water's edge

Greasergrrl's Surprise Machine

Dogs, music, tech and other random ramblings

