A New Day


Finishing the writing of a book (and it’s NEVER finished until it’s in print) is like sending a child off to college. You’ve done all you can to make your offering as good as it can be, yet every time you open it back up (like that child visiting home) you see something you might have done differently–but it’s too late.

Having completed two novels now, with a third nearly finished, I understand why many actors never watch themselves onscreen. Like sitting in a cab in Bangkok, it’s best not to look.

But there comes a time (if you’re a smart writer, IMMEDIATELY after finishing a project) that another one is started. Like re-dogging right after the loss of a pet, taking up the life of the next novel is best while the keyboard body is still warm.

This is the best part of writing for me. I am an avid walker (4 to 5 miles daily). I love music. The natural match: flesh out a rough plot and give it a musical score. I load my best-friend iPOD with enough songs to fill roughly 90 minutes and out the door I go to feel my way through the rough draft in my head. As long as the book is being written, that score becomes my walking mantra. It helps me visualize the story, set the scenes and experience the emotions of my characters. It gets me unstuck when I hit a plot-snag; excites me when I find the open door to the next chapter.

Do you have a story sitting in your brain? Set it to music and get moving. I promise it will follow you on your trail and soon overtake you. Before long, it will be living and breathing just like you, walking way ahead, at times making you struggle to keep up.

It will be the new day of a new book.

 

~ by rfgainey on January 22, 2013.

5 Responses to “A New Day”

  1. Congratulations Robin. What a nice, and interesting post. I’ll look forward to reading your latest book.

  2. I’m listening to the soundtrack you provided while writing this comment and I’m…I’m…feelin’ good.

    My process differs in a few ways. One: I listen to nature and for oncoming cars because I think listening to an iPod while walking is dangerous. (If I lived closer I’d walk with you and alert you to oncoming vehicles.) Also, I need a period of anxious self-doubt before stuttering my way into the next project. šŸ™‚

  3. Igniting the spark within, we take action and from there creativity is born. Like turning the key to start the engine, that’s all it takes. Wonderful words for those that can be temporarily frozen.

Leave a Reply

 
Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

The Fine Art of Visiting

Sharing points of view politely, just like Grandma taught me. Now that we're visiting, join in the conversation!

Wordcrafters In Eugene

The Focus is on Fiction: It's All About Craft

A Literary Lion's Tale

Musings from the The Literary Lion, Peter Miller

The View From Here

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs: A writer at the water's edge

Greasergrrl's Surprise Machine

Dogs, music, tech and other random ramblings

