I Confess


OK— I confess I have not been drawn into the obsession with American Idol.  American Idol ROCKS!Nearly all of my friends are fans, from the first scathing reviews of wanna-be stars who perceive themselves note-worthy (pun intended), to the last dying breath of the “second-man- standing” on the season finale.

It’s not because I don’t enjoy seeing some of the fine talent that waltzes, er, stumbles through the season.  I simply don’t like some of the vicious criticism and the dashing of fragile character, even though I know if one seeks to succeed in the entertainment industry, one must have a thick skin—either going in, or coming out.  God knows, as a writer, I understand that concept.

Yet, American Idol allows us to reconfirm what we already know, and sometimes in a spectacular, heart-warming, inspired-by-God way: Great things often shine through adversity. 

This performance, by Jason Castro, is one of those great things. 

A friend sent me this link to his “Over the Rainbow” a couple of nights ago and again, I confess, I’ll now be there for the final show. 

So should you.  Rainbow through Gum tree

~ by rfgainey on April 11, 2008.

One Response to “I Confess”

  1. I also do not normally watch this show, but when visiting my friend in San Diego, we watched because she is hooked. Now that I saw that show, I want to find out how they do! This guy is one of my favorites for sure and I love that rendition of this song!

Leave a Reply

 
Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

The Fine Art of Visiting

Sharing points of view politely, just like Grandma taught me. Now that we're visiting, join in the conversation!

Wordcrafters In Eugene

The Focus is on Fiction: It's All About Craft

A Literary Lion's Tale

Musings from the The Literary Lion, Peter Miller

The View From Here

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs: A writer at the water's edge

Greasergrrl's Surprise Machine

Dogs, music, tech and other random ramblings

